Chapter 24

Heading down the hallway, Sophie and Grace made their way toward the bathroom.

“The bubble bath is under the sink,” Sophie said. “I’m just going to go grab a towel.” Grace started to draw a warm bath and while she was reaching for the bubble bath, her mind wandered back to Molly. Grace’s heart warmed as the thought about how perfect she is.

CH 24 Pic 1

“Thank you Grace for doing this. I really appreciate it.” Sophie said, as she entered the bathroom.

“Of course.” Grace smiled. “Babies are wonderful, aren’t they?” Grace said, pouring in the bubble bath.

“They are. Hey, why don’t you have children if you love them so much?” Grace stopped pouring the bubble bath and shook her head.

“Because I can’t have any.” Grace lied. Sophie blinked, shocked.

CH 24 Pic 2

“I’m so sorry.” Sophie said, sadly. Grace didn’t care that she lied, she hated that Sophie had this perfect life. She wanted Sophie to feel bad. To hurt as she did all those years in the orphanage.

“It’s okay.” Grace said. “Now, get in. I’ll go make you a cup of tea for after your bath and I’ll watch Molly so you can relax.”

“You are such an amazing friend, Grace. Thank you.” Sophie said, as she stepped into the warm bath and laid her head back. Grace smiled and closed the bathroom door quietly.

CH 24 Pic 3

“Looks like my plan has changed.” Grace thought.Ā  As she headed down the hallway towards the nursery, Grace devised a new plan, a better plan. Picking up Molly from her bassinet, Grace headed out of the front door and didn’t look back.

CH 24 Pic 4

 

 

43 thoughts on “Chapter 24

  1. Oh, Grace, no. Chompy would not want this for you. Suddenly I’m feeling much more sympathetic to Sophie. I hope Grace realizes she’s made an enormous mistake soon.

    Liked by 5 people

  2. I’m conflicted now. Half of me screams “Go, Grace, go!” The other yells at her: “NO! You’re going to end up in prison!”
    Oh. I just had a vision of interesting conversation:

    Meatball: “So, you have passed the initiation test, Grace. You are ready to become my apprentice. Bwahahahaha!”
    Grace: “I’ve been ready all my life, you sexy gangster!”

    Liked by 4 people

Leave a Reply

